Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Community News

Supreme Court Announces Rollout Plan for Statewide Centralized Case Management System

Monday, January 22, 2018  
Share |

The Kansas Supreme Court today released its rollout plan for the judicial branch's new
centralized case management system that will allow all district and appellate case data to
reside on a single web-based platform, transforming the way the state court system serves
the people of Kansas.

“Implementing statewide case management is a defining achievement for the judicial
branch, which processes more than 380,000 cases each year,” said Chief Justice Lawton
Nuss. "We look forward to bringing the first district courts onto the platform in about 18
months and to having all courts on it within four years."

The judicial branch entered into an $11.5 million contract with Tyler Technologies of Plano,
Texas, to customize and use its Odyssey Case Manager™ system. It will be paid for with
docket fees earmarked by the Kansas Legislature for the project.

Odyssey was recommended by the eCourt Steering Committee, formed in 2015 to identify
key requirements for a centralized case management system. Justice Dan Biles serves as
chair of the steering committee and its members include representatives of the appellate
and district courts, including justices, judges, court administrators, clerks, and information
technology staff. eCourt subcommittees with wider ranging representation of court
personnel and members of the legal community focused on specific areas such as
infrastructure, requirements, and rules, and their findings were reported to the steering

“Odyssey will integrate well with our existing electronic document filing system already in
use across the state," Biles said. "Our rollout focuses on higher volume courts first, so we
move the biggest share of case processing to this web-based environment early in the
project. In the end, we expect to see improved court efficiency through access to real-time
case information."

The order in which district courts will be brought onto the new system is shown in the chart
below. Year one will entail customizing Odyssey to align with Kansas laws and court rules.
Appellate courts – Court of Appeals and Supreme Court – are a separate track that will take
place in years three and four of the project.

Phased rollout plan for centralized case
management system

Track I
(year 2)

8th Judicial District: Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties

21st Judicial District: Clay and Riley counties

Track II
(year 3)

13th Judicial District: Butler, Elk, and Greenwood counties

18th Judicial District: Sedgwick County

Track III
(year 3)

3rd Judicial District: Shawnee County

4th Judicial District: Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties

6th Judicial District: Bourbon, Linn, and Miami counties

11th Judicial District: Cherokee, Crawford, and Labette counties

14th Judicial District: Chautauqua and Montgomery counties

19th Judicial District: Cowley County

31st Judicial District: Allen, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson counties

Track IV
(year 3)

1st Judicial District: Atchison and Leavenworth counties

2nd Judicial District: Jackson, Jefferson, Pottawatomie, and Wabaunsee counties

5th Judicial District: Chase and Lyon counties

7th Judicial District: Douglas County

29th Judicial District: Wyandotte County

Track V
(year 4)

12th Judicial District: Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties

15th Judicial District: Cheyenne, Logan, Sheridan, Sherman, Rawlins, Thomas, and Wallace counties

17th Judicial District: Decatur, Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, and Smith counties

20th Judicial District: Barton, Ellsworth, Rice, Russell, and Stafford counties

22nd Judicial District: Brown, Doniphan, Marshall, and Nemaha counties

23rd Judicial District: Ellis, Gove, Rooks, and Trego counties

28th Judicial District: Ottawa and Saline counties

Track VI
(year 4)

9th Judicial District: Harvey and McPherson counties

16th Judicial District: Clark, Comanche, Ford, Gray, Kiowa, and Meade counties

24th Judicial District: Edwards, Hodgeman, Lane, Ness, Pawnee, and Rush counties

25th Judicial District: Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties

26th Judicial District: Grant, Haskell, Morton, Seward, Stanton, and Stevens counties

27th Judicial District: Reno County

30th Judicial District: Barber, Harper, Kingman, Pratt, and Sumner counties

Installation of the centralized case management system is a key component in the Kansas Supreme Court's eCourt plan. It will complete the conversion from local, paper-driven processes to a statewide electronic one. It will provide attorneys, judges, and court personnel using an internet connection immediate access to authorized case information, details, and records from across the state. It will also require the statewide standardization of many local court practices.   
The primary goals of the centralized case management system implementation are to: 

  • Improve case processing in the district and appellate courts.
  • Increase the efficiency of information delivery to district and appellate court judges.
  • Increase operational efficiency and effectiveness through automating certain activities and streamlining other operations.
  • Improve data quality and integrity.
  • Improve performance measurement, analysis, and reporting through enhanced information collection, storage, retrieval, and analysis.
  • Enable work sharing between district courts, primarily among clerks and court services officers.
  • Maintain and improve data sharing between various governmental and public entities.
  • Maintain and improve the ability to process electronic payments.
  • Enable web-based sharing of public information. 

The 2014 Legislature established the Electronic Filing and Case Management Fund with deposits from docket fees dedicated to finalizing the efiling project and implementing centralized case management under the Supreme Court's eCourt plan. By statute, each year through fiscal year 2019, the first $3.1 million received in docket fee revenue will be deposited into that fund. In fiscal year 2020 and later years, the first $1 million in docket fee revenue is directed into the fund for things such as maintaining eCourt components.

FACT SHEET: Centralized case management system rollout plan

State of Kansas
Office of Judicial Administration
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th
Topeka, Kansas  66612-1507


Contact Us

T 316.263.2251
F 316.263.0629

Find Us

Wichita Bar Association
225 N. Market, Suite 200
Wichita, KS 67202