Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press
Filter news by category:

Read about recent events, essential information and the latest community news.

WBA Member
Friday, March 13, 2020
Governor Appoints Kellie Hogan to Fill District Court Vacancy in 18th Judicial District »
TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) --  Governor Laura Kelly appointed Kellie E. Hogan today to fill the vacancy created by the pass...
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Hon. Marla Luckert Will Renew Oath of Office, Become Chief Justice Today »
When Justice Marla Luckert renews her oath of office in an investiture ceremony at 3 p.m. Tuesday afternoon, she will...
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Governor Appoints Monique Centeno to Fill District Court Vacancy in the 18th Judicial District »
Governor Laura Kelly appointed Monique Centeno to fill the term of retiring Chief Judge James Fleetwood. “Monique is a...
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Two Judges Appointed to Municipal Court Judges Education Committee »
The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Steve Baccus and Ted Griffith to the Municipal Court Judges Education Committee. B...
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
New Chief Judge Appointed for 18th Judicial District »
The Kansas Supreme Court has appointed District Judge Jeff Goering as chief judge of the 18th Judicial District effective...
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Gilliland & Hays LLC Law Firm Announcement »
At Gilliland & Hayes LLC , a firm currently with 4 offices across the state of Kansas, unwavering service to clients...
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Seasoned Wichita Attorneys Form New Practice as State-Wide Firm Announces Dissolution »
Six attorneys, formerly of the Wichita office of Gilliland & Hayes LLC, have announced the formation of a new practice...
Monday, April 16, 2018
John W. Broomes Confirmed by Senate »
John W. Broomes was confirmed by the Senate yesterday afternoon and will be informally sworn in this coming Tuesday aftern...
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Honorable Steve Leben - Recipient of the Chief Justice Richard W. Holmes Award of Merit »
Honorable Steve Leben, of the Kansas Court of Appeals, is the 2017 recipient of the Chief Justice Richard W. Holmes Award...
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Stephen McAllister Confirmed by the U.S. Senate as the New U.S. Attorney for Kansas »
Stephen McAllister, who serves as the Kansas solicitor general and is the former dean of KU’s Law School, has been confirm...
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Richard A. Macias Appointed as New District Court Judge »
Governor Sam Brownback on Wednesday announced the appointment of Richard A. Macias of Wichita as a District Judge in the 1...
Thursday, November 9, 2017
James Fleetwood reappointed chief judge of 18th Judicial District »
TOPEKA — Chief Justice Lawton R. Nuss announced today the Supreme Court has reappointed Judge James Fleetwood to a two-yea...
Friday, June 2, 2017
Effective July 1, 2017: House Substitute for SENATE BILL No. 120 »
Senate Bill No. 120 changes the rules of civil procedure, it's effective July 1 st . To read in its entirety, please...
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Congratulations to our 2017 Award Recipients »
2017 Award Recipients Lifetime Achievement Award:      Warner Eisenbise...
Friday, March 24, 2017
Information for the Bar from the Sedgwick County Detention Facility »
Information for the Bar from the Detention Facility The Sheriff’s Office has been reviewing the security measures tha...
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Congratulations to the Newly Elected WBA Officers & Board Members for 2017 - 2018 »
2017 - 2018 WBA Officers & Board President-Elect - John Rapp Vice President - Rebecca Mann Secretary-Tr...
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
LEXIS Advance search engine now available »
The Sedgwick County Law Library has switched over to the LEXIS Advance search engine.  The service remains free to pa...

Contact Us

T 316.263.2251
F 316.263.0629

Find Us

Wichita Bar Association
225 N. Market, Suite 200
Wichita, KS 67202